Tide(tm) In The Tidal Pool

Thursday, November 11 2004

Mucho boring rant begins. I’ve been giving some consideration to changing hours at PTS. Consider that working a 12-hour shift effectively blows your entire day – why not just finish the job by staying on another 12? Currently I am spending three days (Mon-Wed) from 09:00 to 21:00 there, for a total of 36 hours worked, three days blown. Since I’m used to doing the budget thing for my ex-company I can add that this includes six meals purchased and three round trips in the personal vehicle. After travel time, I get home just in time, usually, to tell my kids goodnight and head off to bed myself.

Compare and contrast to spending two days (Whatever) from 06:00 to 06:00, total of 48 hours worked, two days blown, four meals purchased and four round-trips in the personal vehicle. Switching to 24-hour shifts seems therefore to make sense – fewer expenses, eight hours overtime EVERY time, and best of all only missing my kids two days a week versus three. The downside, of course, is that currently I am able to run every sixth night at OWL, even though I am arriving late (OWL evening duty begins at 18:00). And that occurs three duties in a row (Wed-Tue-Mon). Whereas I would be completely missing duty, but only twice every six weeks as the duty falls on a workday, and those wouldn’t be back-to-back duties (e.g. Wed-Tue) because I would not be running back-to-back 24 hour shifts.

Eh. Told you it was boring. Obviously much to consider…

via DTs EMT.

Leave a Reply

