The Fire Guys Can Have Chad Kroeger

Sunday, January 16 2005

I like the way Hollywood portrayed scientists, in the 1960’s. Back then, Hollywood scientists wore long white lab coats, smoked pipes, and were always Very Serious. When they went off-duty, usually outside of the laboratory to combat the giant radioactive whatever-of-the-week, they’d change out from lab coat into suit and tie, but were still Very Serious, as befitted the Very Serious Nature of both their work and the crisis du jour.

Now, EMS is serious business – after all, someone is hurt. There is a difference between being lighthearted and caring vs. coming across as inattentive and playing around. Besides, whatever or whoever hurt them may still be there (downed power lines, bad guy with knife or gun, etc.) and goofing off can, in those and many other circumstances, get somebody killed. We do not goof off on scene.

Ah, but, how about on the way to the scene? Our rigs are new-ish and have CD players which so far as I know have never been used. How cool would it be to kick in some Spencer Davis while the big doors are rolling up and we’re turning on the lights – opening notes to “Gimme Some Lovin” as we draw out of the house and begin to scream down the road? Foghat’s “Fool for the City” seems apropos for I95 Southbound, says I. Soundtracks for real life and be damned to the royalties, says I.

Alas, it is not to be. “Further Information” comes in across the radio and we gotta be able to hear it. Although, if it weren’t for that, I’m sure my last crew would have gone for the idea, although what hip-hop monstrosities they, being much my juniors in years, would have inflicted on me is open to conjecture.

Which brings me to my current crew – of whom I’ve met but one where I had looked forward to meeting three. We had, Friday night, a light call load, which worked out just fine as it was Himself, his driver, and a last-minute rider dipping their toes into EMS before deciding to take the plunge. My driver seems to be a cheerful polyglot – Spanish, French, some Arabic; more DTs cannot say, but that much is plenty as it’ll certainly come in handy, my Spanish being the self-taught variety.

Anyway, one trauma and two medical calls do not a good team assessment make. More, I suppose, as it develops.

via DTs EMT.

Leave a Reply

